How to quickly organize your photos by date & folders in Lightroom

I noticed last year that the photos I had on my hard-drive were increasing by the day. I knew I had to organize them or or get lost in a chaotic photo world. It was getting more and more difficult to find a photo I needed, especially those taken way back. I didn't have to worry about recent photos, because those were sorted automatically as I upload them to my Laptop, but the old ones were all in one giant folder.

It was time I started the sorting process, which by the way turned out to be very painful & which lasted for weeks & maybe months. During the sorting process, I had to create folders for every date and rename every photo that was taken on that particular date. The reason I had to rename them was because they originated from different cameras & had different names.

After months of suffering & frustration, I finally got them all sorted out. Those without a date went into a single folder & were tagged separately.

I was happy with my work, at least I did till I started using Lightroom & found that, what took me months could have been done in a couple of minutes, so I decided to write a quick blog, to prevent you from going through what I went through.

Here is how it's done in Lightroom:
  1. Start Lightroom, go to FILE & select IMPORT FILES.
  2. A menu will pop-up, when it does select the Source (where the photos are) from the top-left menu.
  3. From the top-middle menu, you can either select to COPY, MOVE or COPY AS DNG.
  4. On the top-right menu, select the new destination & then select from the dropdown list below that section to have them organized by DATE & DATE FORMAT.
  5. On the bottom-middle menu, you can save your new settings for future use, so you'll not have to go through that same process again. You can save as much presets as you want.
  6. Click on IMPORT & you're done.
All your photos will be organized by DATE & FOLDERS and then be placed at the destination you chose during import. If you chose to MOVE the files, your old destination will now be empty and you can delete the old folder. Make sure it's empty before you do.